top of page
12th Annual National Juried Exhibition

This year for the Morgan’s 12th Annual Juried Exhibition artists are posed with the challenge of exploring New Terrain. Artists are encouraged to traverse this concept through various media and ideas of mapping, the heroic quest, charting new courses and translating the experiential into the visual and how we connect to our environment real and imagined. Artwork encompassing this theme is eligible for submission. This year’s exhibition is juried by Dr. Jeffrey Katzin and Fafnir Adamites.

This year's jurors are Dr. Jeffrey Katzin, the Senior Curator at the Akron Art Museum, and Fafnir Adamites, fiber artist and Assistant Professor in the Fibers area at California State University, Long Beach. The jurors have selected the Best in Show and Runner Up, both receive cash prizes and will be announced during the opening reception. During the opening reception, attendees are encouraged to vote for the Viewer’s Choice award which will be announced at the end of the night and on the Morgan Conservatory’s social media (@morganpaper).


We would like to thank the support of this year's exhibition sponsors: Jan Driesbach, MP Marion, Jean Appleby, Jim Gruzosky, Franklin Hickman, Maggie Denk-Leigh, Julie McLaughlin, Leonard & Pamela Young, and UBGreensfelder. 


The opening reception for "New Terrain" will be held on Friday, April 5th, 5pm-8pm at the Morgan Papermaking Conservatory. The exhibition will be on view from April 5th - May 4th, 2024. The Morgan Gallery is open Tuesday through Saturday from 10am-4pm

About the Jurors
Dr. Jeffrey Katzin
Jeff Katzin, Headshot.jpg

Dr. Jeffrey Katzin (he/him) is the Senior Curator at the Akron Art Museum. He specializes in modern and contemporary art with research ranging from painting to photography, film, and video art.


Katzin has received a certificate in Art Museum Studies from Smith College, a BA from Wesleyan University, an MA from the University of Texas at Austin, and a PhD from the University of Pennsylvania, where his doctoral dissertation explored the history and potential of abstract photography, with particular focus on Alvin Langdon Coburn’s Vortographs of 1916–17.


Since coming to Akron Art Museum in 2019, he has curated several exhibitions, including Keith Haring: Against All Odds, Amanda D. King: Locusts, and Afterimages: Geometric Abstraction and Perception.

Award Winners

Congratulations to the award winners of the Morgan's 12th Annual National Juried Exhibition!

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Wix Twitter page

Participating Artist

Diane Britt – Wakeman, OH

Kathy Bussert-Webb – Rancho Viejo, TX

Anna Chapman – Chagrin Falls, OH

Paula Damm – Cleveland Heights, OH

Stephanie Damoff – Ridgewood, NY

Marjorie Fedyszyn – Minneapolis, MN

Iris Gray – Pocatello, ID

Jeanetta Ho – Cleveland Heights, OH

David Joo – Richmond, VA

Nell Kessenich – Chicago, IL

Drew King – Rocky River, OH
Karen Koch – Hudson, OH
Nicole Malcolm – Stow, OH
Janet Marsano – Loudonville, OH
Jennifer Miller – Iowa City, IA
Riss Principe – New Paltz, NY
Brielle Sarkisian – New Paltz, NY
Jennifer Scheuer – Lafayette, IN
Lisa Schonberg – Pepper Pike, OH
Charles Schweigert – Cleveland Heights, OH

Morgan Shankweiler – Swarthmore, PA
Katie Anne Sharpe – Knoxville, TN
Landes Sullivan – Madison, WI
Clay Tenhula – Philadelphia, PA
Kristen Tordella-Williams – Opelika, AL
Roberto Torres Mata – Madison, WI
Susan Twining – Shaker Heights, OH
Erik Waterkotte – Charlotte, NC
Ian Welch – Brunson, SC
Isabella Whitfield – Arlington, VA

We Would Like to Gratefully Acknowledge the Support of Our Sponsors:

Members of the Morgan Conservatory Board
Leonard & Pamela Young

Morgan Funder Email Header B.png
bottom of page